Search

Browse By Category



Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Zoom is a flexible and useful platform for conducting remote instruction. It is important to note that there are some settings to consider when using Zoom for your class. This information highlights settings that help mitigate the risk of privacy concerns, uninvited participants, and unauthorized distribution of your class content. Changing some of these settings may not take effect for already scheduled meetings, and so you’ll want to test these before conducting class via Zoom.

Settings for Zoom can be found here: Zoom Meeting Settings

Privacy settings:

Feature

Setting

Information

Record active speaker with shared screen.

YES

Students who have their video on during the session would appear on-screen only if they are unmuted.

Record gallery view with shared screen.

NO

The gallery view shows all participants in a grid format. Turning this off means that the gallery view won’t be recorded and only the active speaker will.

Recording consent.

NO

Students who do not consent will not be allowed to participate in the meeting.

Only authenticated users can access the recording.

YES

Enabling this option requires people to enter their password to access the file. Check that you have enabled this setting in your profile’s Zoom meeting settings.

Display participants’ names in the recording.

NO

Setting this feature to off will ensure that participants’ names are not made a part of the recording.

Save chat messages from the meeting/webinar.

NO

Enabling this option allows viewers to see participants’ names. With this option disabled, Zoom will automatically download a.txtfile of the chat transcript to your
local computer’s Documents/Zoom folder. Note that this transcript also includes participants’ names.

Uninvited participants (sometimes called Zoom bombing):

Feature

Setting

Information

Require meeting password

YES

When scheduling a meeting or editing a pre-existing meeting, you have the option of requiring participants to enter a password that you assign. Useful for thwarting “Zoom bombers” who try random combinations of numbers to access meetings; less useful for when meeting access information is shared with those outside of the class.

Require password for participants joining by phone

YES

You can enable this option in your profile’s Zoom meeting settings. A numeric password will be required for participants joining by phone if your meeting has a password. For meetings with an alphanumeric password, a numeric version will be generated.

Only authenticated users can join

YES

When scheduling a meeting, you have the option of requiring participants to enter their password before entering the meeting. Check that you have enabled this setting in your profile’s Zoom meeting settings. NOTE: Participants who are calling in will not be prompted to authenticate. To prevent unwanted callers from joining the meeting, also enable Waiting Room, Guest Participants Only (see below).

Waiting Room

YES

This will place anyone calling into the meeting into the Waiting Room. If you have not set the meeting so that only authenticated users can join, anyone with a non-UNCSA Zoom account will also be placed into the waiting room. All other participants will bypass the waiting room and be allowed to enter the meeting.

Allow Removed Participants to Rejoin

NO

Disabling this setting will prevent uninvited participants to come back into the meeting.

Screen SharingHOST ONLYChanging this setting will only allow the host to share their screen by default. The host can then delegate screen sharing to only the users they select during the meeting.


Unauthorized dissemination of content:

Feature

Setting

Information

Only authenticated users can view cloud recordings

YES

When sharing a Zoom-recorded class session via Zooms cloud service, enabling this will restrict access to those with a password.

Viewers can download

NO

Viewers will be able to watch a stream of the recording, but not download a copy.  This feature is available as an option when sharing your recordings.

More Information


Page viewed times